Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan announced his covers album “Imposter” earlier this week. Now shortly after Cat Power aka Chan Marshall reveals an upcoming covers album of her own Gahan along with his band Soulsavers offer their rendition of the Marshall pinned song “Metal Heart” from her 1998 album “Moon Pix”.

The record also includes covers of songs by PJ Harvey, Mark Lanegan, Neil Young, Bob Dylan and more. “When I listen to other people’s voices and songs—more importantly the way they sing them and interpret the words—I feel at home,” Dave Gahan confesses. “I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else. There’s not one performer on the record who I haven’t been moved by.” He adds, “I know we made something special, and I hope other people feel that and it takes them on a little kind of trip—especially people who love music and have for years.”.

Listen to “Metal Heart” and check out the album track listing below. “Imposter” is due out November 12th courtesy of Columbia Records.



“Imposter” Track Listing :

  1. The Dark End of the Street
  2. Strange Religion
  3. Lilac Wine
  4. I Held My Baby Last Night
  5. A Man Needs a Maid
  6. Metal Heart
  7. Shut Me Down
  8. Where My Love Lies Asleep
  9. Smile
  10. The Desperate Kingdom of Love
  11. Not Dark Yet
  12. Always On My Mind