Beach House “Chariot” Single (Sub Pop/Bella Union)

“Chariot” the lead single from the upcoming Beach House “B-Sides and Rarities” album is a passionate number highlighted by Victoria Legrand’s soothing vocals. It’s got a bit of a David Lynch element going on as it’s droning keyboards and lulling atmospherics sound like it could have easily been part of the “Blue Velvet” soundtrack. It’s a truly delightful piece sure to impress fans both new and old. The 14 track album is due out on June 30th via Sub Pop and Bella Union.

Boss Hog “Brood X” LP (Bronze Rat Records)

Boss Hog are back with their new album “Brood X”. Led by the husband-and-wife team of singer Cristina Martinez and singer/guitarist Jon Spencer, the album is packed with ten ass shaking rock n roll numbers full of swagger and sway in all the right ways. Spencer’s fuzz driven guitar attack and Martinez dynamic vocal appeal shine bright alongside Hollis Queens thunderous beats and Jens Jurgensen infectious bass lines. Highlights include the anthem like spirit of “Black Eyes” the laid back groove of “Shh Shh Shh” and the dangerous delivery of “Signal”. It’s certainly the kind of mind blowing rock n roll you need in your life….LIKE RIGHT NOW!!! The band have lot’s of upcoming shows including an appearance at the Do Division Street Festival in Chicago June 6th.

Broken Social Scene “Hug Of Thunder” Single (

I’ve always enjoyed Broken Social Scene’s music. My respect for them grew even more when I had the chance to see them in a small studio setting during a live on KEXP performance at CMJ in 2008. “Hug Of Thunder” the title track from their fifth studio album features beautiful lead vocals from Leslie Feist, which pair perfectly with the incredible musicianship and catchy hooks that flow throughout the piece. The Canadian super group was founded by Brendan Canning and Kevin Drew in 1999 and the new album (their first in seven years) also features original members Emily Haines and Jimmy Shaw of Metric, Amy Millan and Evan Cranley of Stars, Charles Spearin and Ohad Benchetrit of Do Make Say Think as well as the previously mentioned Leslie Feist. The band will also be playing dates in the U.S., U.K. and Europe throughout the next several months.

Caleido “Irregular” E.P. (

Shoegaze/indie pop unit Caleido are making some of the brightest and most impressive sounds you will hear anywhere. Based in Santiago, Chile the band just released this stellar four song E.P. that’s full of uplifting melodies, in the pocket rhythms and radiant waves of cinematic sound. Standout number “Click?” comes off like a cross between Air, Pink Floyd and The Flaming Lips as it’s wavering riffs and hypnotic presence are sure to put you in a state of musical bliss. It’s also full of breathtaking dynamics that keep you guessing at what will come next. I also really enjoy the instrumental track “Médel” as it adds the presence of some incredibly gritty guitars and even more psychedelic production that reminds me of “Magical Mystery Tour” era Beatles. Overall “Irregular” is a top notch release that combines brilliant song writing with an open and inviting attitude.

Chuck Berry “Big Boys” Single (

“Big Boys” the first Chuck Berry single in 40 years from his final album “Chuck” is everything you’d expect from the Godfather, Inventor and “TRUE KING OF ROCK N ROLL”. It’s trademark riff and swinging beat echos Berry classics like “Johnny B Goode” and “Maybellene” and features guest appearances from Tom Morello and Nathaniel Rateliff. The song is about “a teenager wanting to do all the things that grownups do”. “Chuck” will be available June 9th courtesy of Dualtone Records. RIP Chuck Berry and HAIL HAIL ROCK N ROLL!!!

Mogwai “Coolverine” Single (

I’m really looking forward to the new Mogwai album “Every Country’s Sun”. The title alone puts a lot of things in perspective and really makes you think. “Coolverine”, the albums first single is highlighted by a driving, uplifting rhythm, full of Dominic Aitchison’s signature bass tone. There’s a cagey, dangerous element to the track that blends well with it’s subtle nuances and deep melodic hooks. Mogwai keep reinventing themselves with each and every release and continue to show why they are one of the most forward thinking bands on the planet. “Every Country’s Sun” is set for release on September 1st courtesy of Temporary Residence Limited.